New Baggage Policy is Amazing

deltaairlineslogoTuesday on my Delta Airlines flight from Atlanta to La Guardia I had a novel and amazing experience. I’m still not sure what’s going on, and when I queried the gate agent she simply said it was something they were “trying out” so I don’t know if it’s a pilot, an anomaly or … And I can’t find anything about it online.

The gate agent came up to me (and other passengers) and offered to pre-board our carry-on luggage that would go in the overhead bin. I had to ask twice to make sure this was not a gate check that would have my bag end up in baggage claim, or simply having them put the luggage in the under-belly and bring it up again when the flight landed as happens on commuter jets. (This was a 737 so I was pretty sure that was not what she had in mind.)

She assured me the bag would be in the overhead bin above my seat. It was. Wow, no reason to rush the gate to make sure my luggage ended up in the overhead bin. And we left early from the gate since it was faster to load the plane and thus we landed early. A win-win-win all the way around.

Anybody else had this experience?

Mitch

This entry was posted in airlines, competitive advantage, customer service and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

