Forget Foursquare and other location based marketing

While location-based marketing has its advantages, there are some much easier things retailers can do. A great example comes from my friend Laurie Coleman who posted this on her Facebook page today.

Note to grocery store managers (or pass this on to grocery store managers): If you open your wireless network to shoppers then I could look up a recipe and buy the ingredients when something comes to mind while in the store. I just tried to look up a recipe but my 3G just wasn’t loading it. If I could have hopped onto the locked wireless connection then I could have looked up the recipe on the Food Network and I would have bought more while I was there.

As my book title reminds you: It’s Not Rocket Science.

Mitch

This entry was posted in retail and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

