Why didn’t I think of that?

I have traveled as part of my job for most of my career. While I did make it to most of my kids’ major activities, my wife always joked that she put a picture of me in the entry hall so the kids would recognize me when I finally came home. Turns out this is a valid and useful idea.

Flatdaddies are cardboard cut-out, life-size (waist-up) photos of a deployed soldier whose child may be too young to remember their parent before they were deployed. (And yes there are flatmommies too). What a great idea.

“Experts believe the cutouts are a useful psychological device, especially for children, to help cope with the stress of long absences. It helps the family stay connected and is a constant reminder that even though mom or dad is thousands of miles away, they are still a part of their lives.”

It has been reported that returning soldiers whose kids have flatdaddies are greeted by those kids with absolute recognition where kids who don’t remember their parent are obviously much less enthusiastic.

What a great idea … and why didn’t I think of that.

Mitch

This entry was posted in Innovation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

