The dichotomy of the airlines

Maybe it’s schizoprhenia, who knows. I was getting ready to leave to go to the airport to catch my American Airlines flight to St. Louis when I get a call from a live person telling me the flight has been delayed about an hour and forty-five minutes. Wow, not even a robo-call, but a live person who talks to me. I’m stunned.

I’m sure when I get to the airport the gate agents will remind me by their actions that if it weren’t for passengers they could fly on time; and flight attendants who are there for my safety (which I hope I will never need); and baggage handlers that seem to find ways to make it take longer than you can imagine to get your luggage.

But, then maybe I can remember the guy who called me to save me some time. He was great.

Are you consistently providing the level of service your customers need, want and demand?

Mitch

This entry was posted in airlines, customer service and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

